Wednesday 4th May
Sunday 8th May, 2022

Best of Badminton – shortlisted events

2008 Nicolas Touzaint (France) on Monique Girard Claudon’s Hildago De L’Ile

We asked fans to vote for their three favourite events from the years 1991 to 2018 that they’d like to watch again from the Badminton Archives. The first stage of the Best of Badminton voting  closed with a massive 8,362 votes cast in total. Frenchman Nicolas Touziant’s exuberant win in 2008 has topped the list of highlights shows we’d like to see again with a healthy 12.58% of the votes. Pippa Funnell is the only athlete to have two of her three Badminton victories in the mix, her 2003 and 2002 wins Supreme Rock coming in 2nd and 4th.

A panel of Badminton experts then met (virtually of course) to whittle the choice down to five shows to play over the week that the 2020 competition was due to run. The panel had their work cut out but the deed is done! The five shows will be revealed in reverse order with the first broadcast of Best of Badminton TV starting on Wednesday 6th May.

Best of Badminton TV

The judging panel were:

  • Jane Tuckwell – Badminton Horse Trials Event Director, involved with Badminton since 1969 when she originally started as Pony Club runner for the event
  • Mark Todd – New Zealand Olympian and four-time Badminton winner (1980, 1994, 1996 and 2011)
  • Julian Seaman – Media Director, part of Badminton’s Media Centre for over 3 decades
  • Eric Winter – Cross Country Course Designer for Badminton since 2017

Voting Top 10

1 2008 Nicolas Touzaint (France) on Monique Girard Claudon’s Hildago De L’Ile 12.58%
2 2003 Pippa Funnell on The Pitt-Lewthwaite Syndicate’s Supreme Rock 9.44%
3 2007 Lucinda Fredericks (Australia) on her own and Clayton Fredericks’s Headley Britannia 7.86%
4 2002 Pippa Funnell on The Pitt-Lewthwaite Syndicate’s Supreme Rock 7.63%
5 1992 Mary Thomson on Mrs G. Robinson and Mr. D. King’s King William 5.90%
6 2015 William Fox-Pitt (Great Britain) on Christopher Stone’s Chilli Morning 5.72%
7 1994 Mark Todd (New Zealand) on Horton Point Syndicate’s Horton Point 5.37%
8 2016 Michael Jung (Germany) on Jung Family & Erich Single’s La Biosthetique – Sam FBW 4.29%
9 2017 Andrew Nicholson (New Zealand) and Deborah Sellar’s Nereo 4.19%
10 1993 Ginny Leng on Citibank and Mrs H. Holgate’s Welton Houdini 3.97%


Results of the Best of Badminton Voting