Andrew Hoy

Wednesday 7th - 11th May 2025

Andrew Hoy

  • 100 - Rutherglen
  • 8 - The Blue Frontier


Seven-times Australian Olympian Andrew Hoy (58), who is based near Melton Mowbray in Leicestershire, is a former winner of Badminton – 2006 (Moonfleet). He last competed here in 2015. Last year at Burghley he was 20th with Rutherglen.

Andrew first represented his country at the 1978 World Championships and since 1984 has represented Australia at seven Olympic Games. He won Olympic team gold in Barcelona (1992), Atlanta (1996) where he carried the Australian flag at the opening ceremony and Sydney (2000) when the Australian team made history as the first to win three consecutive Games and he won individual silver. He became the first Australian since Dawn Fraser to win three consecutive gold medals in the same event. He also competed in Athens (2004) and with Rutherglen finished individual 13th at London 2012 and was the highest placed of the Australian team. He also has two World team bronze medals (Gawler ’86 & Aachen 2006). In 2001 he was inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame in Melbourne. He has also won both Badminton (2006) and Burghley (1979 & 2006).

Andrew, born in 1959 in Culcairn, New South Wales, started riding aged 7 on his parent’s farm and ten years later began his competitive career. It was the diminutive Davey, acquired when he was 13 that gave him his first major success. Four years later the pair competed at the Melbourne three-day event and in 1979 came to England and won Burghley having been eliminated at Badminton earlier in the year. His first Badminton completion came in 1996 with Darien Powers. In 1992 Andrew settled in the UK and was based at Gatcombe. He was formerly married to German team rider Bettina Hoy from who he is divorced.

Out of riding Andrew enjoys motorbikes, travelling and cooking.

Rutherglen, owned by The Rutherglen Syndicate and rider, is a 14-year-old Hanoverian bred in Germany by Gerhard Oestermann from Lübbecke. Rutherglen is by Ramires, a grandson of Ramiro out of the mare Ramona who is by the German-bred Thoroughbred Roncalli and was acquired by Andrew when a four-year-old.

The Blue Frontier, owned by Barbara Keller, is a 16-year-old Irish Sport Horse gelding. He is by the Thoroughbred, New Frontier (a son of Saddlers Wells) out of the Irish Draught mare Roma Blue Wind by the Irish Draught sire Blue Henry. He was originally competed in junior and young rider Europeans by Polish rider Tatiana Elzanowska and in 2013 acquired by Sandra Auffarth who took him to three-star level. Andrew Hoy gained he ride at the end of 2014.




HANN, Germany, 2003
16.3hh , dark brown , gelding

Sire Ramires

Dam Ramona (Roncalli xx)

Breeder Gerhard Oestermann

Owner(s): The Rutherglen Syndicate, Swindon, Wilts.
& Rider

The Blue Frontier

ISH, Ireland, 2001
16.2hh , grey , gelding

Sire New Frontier

Dam Rona Blue Wind (Blue Henry)

Breeder Moira Mckenna

Owner(s): Barbara Keller, Zürich, Switzerland

Notable Results


2016 – Burghley 20th Rutherglen, El The Blue Frontier

2016 – Aachen CICO3* 27th Rutherglen

2016 – Luhmuhlen CCI4* 11th Rutherglen

2016 – Tattersalls CCI3* 4th The Blue Frontier

2016 – Houghton Hall CICO3* 4th Rutherglen

2016 – Sopot CIC3* 2nd Rutherglen, 8th The Blue Frontier

2016 – Burnham Market CIC3* 57th The Blue Frontier

2016 – Montelibretti CCI3* 2nd Rutherglen

2015 – Sopot CCI3* 13th The Blue Frontier

2015 – Burghley CCI4* El Rutherglen

2015 – Le Pin Haras CIC3* 1st Rutherglen

2015 – Gatcombe CIC3* El Rutherglen

2015 – Montelibretti CCI3* 1st Algebra, 9th Cheeky Calimbo

2014 – Blenheim CCI3* 26th Cheeky Calimbo, 42nd Lanfranco

2014 – Burghley CCI4* RET Rutherglen

2014 – Gatcombe CIC3* Ret Cheeky Calimbo

2014 – Aachen CICO3 14th Rutherglen

2014 – Luhmuhlen CCI4* 11th Rutherglen

2014 – Luhmuhlen CIC3* 1st Cheeky Calimbo

2014 – Wiesbaden CIC3* 2nd Rutherglen

2013 – Luhmuhlen CCI4* WD Rutherglen after XC

2012 – London Olympic Games 13th Rutherglen

2012 – Luhmuhlen CCI4* 6th Rutherglen

2012 – Lexington CCI4* 17th Rutherglen

2011 – Blair Castle CCI3* 3rd Rutherglen

2008 – Burghley RET Moonfleet

2007 – Burghley CCI4* 3rd Master Monarch

2006 – Burghley CCI4* 2nd Moonfleet, 5th Mr Pracatan

2006 – WEG Aachen 22nd Master Monarch ,

2006 – Lexington CCI4* 1st Master Monarch, 9th Yeomans Point

2005 – Burghley 6th Mr Pracatan

2004 – Burghley CCI4* 1st Moonfleet, 4th Master Monarch

2004 – Olympic Games 57th

2003 – Burghley CCI4* 9th Master Monarch

2002 – WEG Jerez de la Frontera EL Moonfleet

2002 – Burghley CCI4* 4th Mr Pracatan

2002 – Luhmuhlen CCI4* 1st

2000 – Sydney OG  2nd ind & 1st team (Darien Powers)

1997 – Gatcombe British Open 1st Darien Powers

1996 – Atlanta Olympic Games 11th team 1st

1992 – Barcelona Olympic Games 5th team 1st

1988 – Seoul Olympic Games 8th team 5th

1984 – Olympic Games 15th team 5th

1979 – Burghley 1st Davey



2015 –  El Rutherglen, El Lanfranco

2008 – Badminton EL Moonfleet

2006 – Badminton 1st Moonfleet, 15th Mr Pracatan

2005 – Badminton 3rd Master Monarch, 6th Mr Pracatan

2004 – Badminton 5th Mr Pracatan

2003 – Badminton 7th Mr Pracatan, 26th Moonfleet

2002 – Badminton 8th Darien Powers

2000 – Badminton 9th Darien Powers

1996 – Badminton 10th Darien Powers