Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials

Wednesday 1st May - Sunday 5th May, 2019 #MMBHT

Andrew Nicholson

New Zealand
  • 111 - Nereo
  • 14 - Qwanza


British-based New Zealander Andrew Nicholson (56) is the current holder of the Mitsubishi Motors trophy having (finally) won his first Badminton in 2017 – his 37th completion of the event. He is currently 5th in the FEI World rider rankings

A six-time Olympian Andrew is based near Marlborough in Wiltshire and has lived in the UK for over thirty years. Considered the most prolific event rider ever, London 2012 was his sixth Olympic appearance (and seventh Olympic selection) where he won team bronze and finished in individual fourth place. In 1992 (Barcelona) he won Olympic team silver and in 1996 (Atlanta) team bronze. He won team gold at the 1990 WEG and in 2010 was a member of the NZ team that won bronze at the WEG in Lexington where he also won his first individual medal – bronze with Nereo. In 2014 with Nereo he was a member of the NZ team at the WEG and finished in 9th place.

He has won Burghley five times, 1995, 2000 and 2012.’13 &’14 (Avebury) and holds the record for the most Badminton completions (37). In 2013 he won the Lexington four-star (Quimbo), the Luhmuhlen four-star (Mr Cruise Control) and was first, second and seventh at Burghley with Avebury, Nereo and Calico Jo respectively.

That year he was the winner of the HSBC Classics series and was British number one for a record 16th time.

In 2014 Andrew Nicholson re-wrote the Burghley history books when he won Burghley for the third successive year and on the same horse – Avebury, who is also the only horse to ever win back-to-back Burghley. In 2015 the combination also added a hat-trick of wins at Barbury Castle to their CV. A month later in August (2015), whilst competing at Gatcombe, Andrew suffered a fall at the final fence after which he was found to have sustained a serious neck injury. He spent eight hours in surgery but recuperated and recovered well; he was back in the saddle in December and began competing again in April 2016 and in June won the CCI3* at Bramham (Jet Set) and in August claimed his fourth consecutive CIC3* victory at Barbury Castle (Nereo) and in September was second at Burghley (Nereo) and at the end of the season was number two in the BE rider ranking.

The third of six children Andrew was brought up on a dairy farm in Kihikihi, North Island. After school Andrew joined his brother who was retraining racehorses and rode for local racehorse trainers. He came to England in 1980 aged 19 and his first job was grooming for Mark Todd and Southern Comfort at Badminton (who then won). Within four-years Andrew had two Badminton horses and was selected for the NZ team at the 1984 Olympic Games.

Andrew is married to Wiggy (nee Channer) and the couple has two children Zach and Lily. He also has two older children from his former marriage.

Nereo, owned by Deborah Sellar, is an 18-year-old Spanish-bred gelding. He was bred by former rider Ramon Beca and is by the thoroughbred Fines out of Berganza by the Hanoverian Golfi. Nereo is a full brother to Oliver Townends  former ride Armada (and a full brother to Andrew’s former rides Fenicio, Homero and Oplitas). He was acquired as a four-year-old. He is the winner of the 2012 Pau CCI4* and the winner of Badminton 2017. He has also been 3rd at Badminton (2013) and 2nd at Burghley (2011 & 2016) and was 3rd at the 2010 WEG and 4th individually London Olympics 2012. Nereo has over 3,000 BE points.

Jet Set is an 11-year-old Spanish-bred gelding. He is by the Selle Francais showjumper Nordico who stood in Spain, out of Carina. He has been produced through the grades by Andrew. He has been produced through the grades by Andrew and the pair won Bramham CCI3* in 2016 but have not completed a four-star.







CDE, Spain, 2000
16.3hh , chestnut , gelding

Sire Fines

Dam Berganza (Golfi)

Breeder Mr Ramon Beca

Owner(s): Deborah Sellar, London


CDE, Spain, 2003
16.2hh , bay , mare

Sire Lacros

Dam Kurda 66 (Helio)

Breeder Ana Beca

Owner(s): Mark & Rosemary Barlow, Aylesbury, Bucks.
& Rider

Notable Results

2017 – Pau CCI4* El Jet Set

2017 – Blenheim CIC3* ERM 15th Jet Set

2017 – Burghley CCI4* 8th Nereo

2017 – Barbury Castle CIC3* 2nd Nereo

2017 – Luhmuhlen CCI4* 19th Teseo

2016 – Burghley CCI4* 2nd Nereo

2016 – Barbury Castle 1st Nereo,

2016 – Luhmuhlen 5th Qwanza, 7th Perfect Stranger

2016 – Bramham CCI3* 1st Jet Set, 7th Teseo

2015 – Barbury Castle CIC3* 1st Avebury, 2nd Nereo, 18th Teseo

2015 – Luhmuhlen CCI4* 22nd Qwanza

2014 – Burghley CCI4* 1st Avebury

2014 – Caen WEG 9th Nereo

2014 – Gatcombe CIC3* 1st Avebury, 7th Nereo

2014 – Barbury Castle CIC3* 1st Avebury

2014 – Lexington CCI4* 21st Avebury

2013 – Pau CCI4* 5th Mr Cruise Control, 26th Quimbo

2013 – Le Lions CH-M-YH-CC1* 2nd Jet Set

2013 – Burghley 2nd Avebury, 3rd Nereo, 8th Calico Jo

2013 – Luhmuhlen CCI4* 1st Mr Cruise Control, 6th Rathmoyle King, EL Qwanza

2013 – Lexington CCI4* 1st Quimbo, 3rd Calico Joe

2012 – Pau CCI4* 1st Nereo, 7th Mr Cruise Control

2012 – Boekelo CCI3* 1st Quimbo

2012 – Blenheim CIC3* 1st Quimbo

2012 – Burghley CCI4* 1st Avebury, 13th Calico Joe

2012 – London Olympic Games 4th Nereo, team Bronze

2012 – Lexington CCI4* 7th Qwanza, Ret Calico Joe

2011 – Pau CCI4* 2nd Mr Cruise Control & 23rd Armada

2011 – Burghley CCI4* 2nd Nereo & 8th Avebury

2011 – Gatcombe British Open 1st Nereo, 2nd Avebury, 11th Qwanza

2011 – Luhmuhlen CCI4* 10th Armada, 14th Mr Cruise Control

2010 – Pau CCI4* 9th Mr Cruise Control

2010 – Burghley CCI4* 14th, Armada

2010 – Burghley CCI4* 22nd, Avebury

2010 – Lexington WEG 3rd, Aachen CICO*** 1st Nereo

2009 – Pau CCI4* 13th; (Armada)

2008 – Burghley CCI4* 8th; (Armada)

2008 – Hong Kong OG Elim Lord Killinghurst

2004 – Athens OG 61st

2000 – Burghley CCI4* 1st Mr Smiffy

1996 – Atlanta OG team bronze

1995 – Burghley CCI4* 1st Buckley Province

1992 – Barcelona OG 16th Spinning Rhombus; team silver

1990 – WEG team gold

1984 – Los Angeles OG 28th Kahlua


Recent Badminton results

2017 – 1st Nereo, 12th Qwanza

2015 – Badminton 6th Nereo, 22nd Calico Joe

2014 – Ret Quimbo, El Nereo

2013 – Badminton CCI4* 3rd Nereo, 11th Avebury

2011 – 10th Avebury & 12th Nereo

2010 –11th Nereo, 27th Avebury

2009 – 23rd Armada

2007 – 5th (Lord Killinghurst) 8th (Henry Tankerville)

2005 – 4th (Lord Killinghurst)

2004 – 2nd (Lord Killinghurst)