Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials

Wednesday 1st May - Sunday 5th May, 2019 #MMBHT

Oliver Townend

Great Britain
  • 9 - MHS King Joules
  • 107 - ODT Ghareeb
  • 108 or 10 - Samuel Thomas II


British rider Oliver Townend (35), who is based near Ellesmere in Shropshire, is a former winner of Badminton (2009) and has completed the event 11 times. Last year with Badminton entry Ballaghmor Class he won Burghley for the second time and was a member of the gold medal winning British team at the European Championships at Strzegom (Cooley SRS). One of the busiest riders on the circuit, he is currently ranked 11th in the FEI World rankings and at the end of 2017 was the BE leading rider for the fourth consecutive year.

Oliver began riding when he was seven years old, inheriting his love of horses from his parents. His father, Alan, competed in three-day eventing, while mother, Eve, showed side-saddle at county level. His first success came in show jumping at HOYS when he was 11, and at 13 he went on to represent Britain on the pony eventing team at the European Championships. Oliver quickly moved through the ranks and for three years was stable jockey to British team trainer, the late Kenneth Clawson in Leicestershire before going solo.

Oliver’s good result at his first Badminton in 2005 with Topping earned them an individual place on the 2005 British European Championship squad at Blenheim. With Flint Curtis, Oliver came third at Badminton in 2006 and rode as an individual at the Aachen WEG in the same year. In 2007 he won a team gold medal in Pratoni del Vivaro.

In 2009 Oliver joined the elite group of riders who have won back-to-back Badminton and Burghley titles. That year he also won the HSBC FEI Classics title and at the end of the 2009 season was top of the BE rider rankings for the first time.

In 2014, with Black Tie, he was an individual member of the British Squad for the WEG in France but retired cross country. In 2015 he completed Burghley with three horses and with Fenyas Elegance represented GB at the European Championships at Blair Castle. In 2016 he became National Champion after winning the British Open at Gatcombe.

Cooley SRS (aka Aero) is an 11-year-old Irish Sport Horse gelding. Bred by John Fitzhenry he is by the British-based sire Ramiro B out of Ballynattin Pride by Kiltealy Spring. He has been produced by Oliver was ridden by him at the 2017 European Championships winning team gold although Badminton will be the horse’s first four-star.

Cooley Master Class (aka Cooley) is a 13-year-old Irish Sport Horse gelding. He is by the British-based sire Ramiro B (also the sire of Cooley SRS) out of a mare by Master Imp.

Ballaghmor Class (aka Thomas) owned by Angela Hislop is an 11-year-old Irish Sport Horse gelding. He is by Courage (also the sire of Ringwood Sky Boy, Cooley Rorkes Drift, Duke of Cavan) out of Kilderry Place.  He has been ridden by Oliver since 2012 – Oliver won Burghley on him in 2017.

MHS King Joules (aka Jay) is a 13-year-old Irish Sport Horse gelding. He is by the Thoroughbred Ghareeb (also the sire of Oliver’s ride ODT Ghareeb) out of a mare by Cavalier Royale. He was first ridden to three-star level by Mary King and then the ride was passed to Andrew Nicholson. Oliver gained the ride after Andrew was injured in a fall at Gatcombe 2015.





MHS King Joules

ISH, Ireland, 2005
16.2hh , bay , gelding

Sire Ghareeb

Breeder Ita Brennan

Owner(s): Tom Joules, Market Harborough, Leics.

ODT Ghareeb

Irish Sport Horse, Ireland, 2004
16.3hh , bay , gelding

Sire Ghareeb

Dam Celestial Rose (Tulla Flight)

Breeder Sean Grier

Owner(s): Kathleen Wilkinson, Thirsk, N. Yorks.,
Rachel Wood, Alnwick, Northumberland

Samuel Thomas II

ISH, Ireland, 2004
16.2hh , bay , gelding

Sire Eliro

Dam Barnard Que (Arctic Qur)

Owner(s): Komfi Ltd, Huddersfield, W. Yorks.
Sue Chadwick, Huddersfield, W. Yorks.

Notable Results

2017 – Burghley CCI4* 1st Ballaghmor Class, 21st Samuel Thomas

2017 – Blair Castle CIC3* 3rd Cooley Master Class

2017 – Strzegom CH-EU-CCI3* w/d Cooley SRS (team gold)

2017 – Burgham CIC3* 2nd Cooley Master Class, 3rd Cooley SRS

2107 – Aachen CICO3* 16th Ballaghmor Class

2017 – Jardy CIC3* 2nd Cooley SRS, 3rd Cooley Master Class

2017 – Tattersalls CCI3* 4th Ballaghmor Class

2017 – Tattersalls CICO3* 2nd King Joules

2017 – Ballindenisk CCI3* 1st Lanfranco

2017 – Ballindenisk CIC3* 2nd Cooley SRS

2017 – Burnham Market CIC3* 1st Cooley Master Class, 11th Ballaghmor Class

2016 – Adelaide CIC3* 1st Napoleon

2016 – Boekelo CICO3* 3rd Cooley SRS

2016 – Burghley CCI4* 7th Samuel Thomas, 23rd Dromgurrihy Blue, ret King Joules

2016 – Blair Castle CCI3* 2nd ODT Ghareeb, 3rd Lanfranco

2016 – Gatcombe CIC3* 1st Cillnabradden Evo

2016 – Burgham CIC3* 4th ODT Ghareeb

2016 – Burgham CIC3* 1st MHS King Joules, 33rd Dromghurrihy Blue

2016 – Bramham CCI3* 3rd MHS King Joules, 9th Samuel Thomas

2016 – Burgham CIC3* 1st Dromghurrihy Blue, 21st Samuel Thomas

2016 – Houghton Hall CICO3* 8th MHS King Joules, 5th Dromghurrihy Blue

2016 – Burnham Market CIC3* 1st Cooley Master Class, 2nd Noteworthy, 26th Armada,

2015 – Ballindenisk CCI3* 1st Cooley SRS, 8th King Joules

2015 – Blair Castle CH-EU-CCI3* 17th Fenyas Elegance

2015 – Burghley CCI4* 11th Dromgurrihy Blue, 23rd Armada, 32nd Samuel Thomas

2014 – Burghley CCI4* 8th Armada

2014 – Caen WEG Ret Black Tie

2014 – Tattersalls CCI* 1st Colonel Joe

2012 – Burghley 4th Armada,

2012 – Luhmuhlen CCI4* 7th ODT Sonas Rovatio, 8th Armada

2012 – Ballindenisk CCI3* 1st Arctic Mouse

2011 – Burghley CCI4* Ret Imperial Master, EL Neo de Breuil

2009 – Burghley CCI4* 1st Carousel Quest

2007 – Pratoni EU-CH-CCI3* 12th Flint Curtis (team gold_

2005 – Blenheim EU-CH-CCI3* 43rd Topping


2017 – 16th ODT Ghareeb, 25th Samuel Thomas

2016 – 25th Armada, Ret Black Tie

2015 – 11th Armada

2014 – 2nd Armada

2013 – 34th Armada

2009 – 1st Flint Curtis

2008 – 12th Coup De Coeur

2006 – 3rd Flint Curtis, 31st Topping

2005 – 12th Topping