Wednesday 3rd May
Sunday 7th May, 2023


Irish Olympic rider Michael Ryan (43), from Co Cork has completed Badminton eight times and on his last visit here in 2017 completed with Dunlough Striker, his entry this year also. The pair, a member of the fourth placed team at the 2017 European Championships, completed Burghley last year.

Michael, who is originally from Limerick, was introduced through hunting with the Scarteen.

Michael is known for his partnership with Old Road who was retired in 2012 aged 18. Together the pair was an Irish team stalwart since first representing Ireland at the European Championships in Punchestown (2003). With Old Road Michael represented Ireland at three European Championships and one World Equestrian Games and completed Badminton four-times. In 2010 Michael was selected for the WEG with Ballylynch Adventure but had to withdraw due to a horse injury – the combination then represented Ireland at the 2012 London Olympic Games and the 2015 European Championships.

Outside of eventing Michael enjoys running and watching movies.

Michael is married to international eventer Patricia Ryan and together they run Donegan Ryan Eventing. In 2009 the couple gained a one-two victory in the World Cup qualifier at Tattersalls with Patricia and Fernhill Clover Mist, taking poll position and both represented Ireland at the European Championships that year.

Dunlough Striker owned by Tom & Carol Henry, is a 14-year-old Irish Sport Horse gelding – at 17.2hh one of the tallest in the field. He is by Maltstriker (also the sire of four-star horse Neelix) out of a mare by the thoroughbred Beau Royal. He was acquired from Robbie and Victoria Collins in 2014 and was formerly competed to three-star by Robbie. In 2016 he was the winner of the three-star three-day at Millstreet. He completed his first Badminton in 2017.




Dunlough Striker

ISH, Ireland, 2005
17.1hh , bay , gelding

Sire Maltstriker

Dam Beau Rua (Beau Royale)

Breeder Mr Kevin Nolan

Owner(s): Tom & Carol Henry, Co. Cork, Ireland

Notable Results

2018 – Burghley CCI4* 24th Dunlough Striker

2018 – Luhmuhlen CCI4* 26th Dunlough Striker

2017 – Strzegom CH-EU-CCI3* 32nd Dunlough Striker

2016 – Millstreet CCI3* 1st Dunlough Striker

2015 – Blair Castle CH-EU-3* 14th Ballylynch Adventure

2015 – Ballindenisk 3rd Dunlough Striker

2014 – Burghley CCI4* 16th Ballylynch Adventure

2012 – London OG El Ballylynch Adventure

2010 – Luhmuhlen CCI4* 17th Ballylynch Adventure

2009 – Fontainebleau EU-Ch 27th Old Road

2006 – Aachen WEG 50th Old Road

2005 – Blenheim EU Ch 34th Old Road

2003 – Punchestown EU CH 27th Old Road


2017 – 38th Dunlough Striker

2016 – 30th Ballylynch Adventure

2015 – 9th Ballylynch Adventure

2013 – 63rd Ballylynch Skysport

2011 – 45th Old Road

2010 – 43rd Old Road

2008 – 34th Old Road

2006 – 33rd Old Road